Altoholic, Altitis, Altism…

To me, having too many alts indicates a passion for the game, just as having multiple level seventy characters does.  But it does beg an answer to the question of why people make alts.

For me, the answer is pretty simple – I make alts when I’m frustrated with something on one of my main characters or when I need something relatively mindless and easy that ISN’T farming.  *laughs*  Most of the time, I even hop to a new server just to check it out.  Since I’ve leveled at least one of each of the class/race combinations to at least Level 10, I know the starting zones and quests very well.

And I do have rules for Alt creation – I don’t send Gold to an alt until that alt has dinged Level 20, I don’t send mats or do enchants until Level 35 and finally, I delete the alt if it’s been more than four months since I’ve played him/her unless the alt was created for a specific purpose (to play with a specific friend or serves as a name holder for a future character).

But.

I also find that when I hit the late teens or early twenties of leveling, I get bored and go back to whichever main I was originally frustrated with.    Currently, I’ve been unable to raid on my raiding main, a Level 70 Gnome Mage due to having multiple raiding players in the same house and a lack of care for both the elderly and the young during the nightly raids.  So creating alts that I can leave at anytime for any reason (if my daughter wakes up with a nightmare or my grandmother is wandering about), is a way for me to deal with that frustration.

Now, as far as server hopping goes, I enjoy checking out each server, their economies and the general progression on the server.  For example – Kilrogg-A is fairly end-game oriented with few to no pieces of low-level gear on the auction house and what little is there is insanely expensive.  Kilrogg-H isn’t quite as bad – more low-level gear but the prices fluctuate more.  All this while Azuremyst-A is nicely progressed, not quite as end-game oriented and is fairly inundated with low-level gear but when you reach the mid-late forties and above, the price of gear jumps almost exponentially.

What are your experiences with alts or new servers?

3 Responses

  1. Hey, like your site, like what’s going on here. My experience with server-hopping: I created all my characters on one server with some real life friends, made more WoW-friends on there, but I was the only one really into the Auction House and my server has been one of the smallest servers for some time. So I’ve explored quite a few other servers trying to find some nice medium-sized economies. One of the ones I’ve really liked is Kul Tiras, where a few of your Horde characters are :). Not too big, not too small. I’d go say hi to you, but I’m Alliance over there.

  2. Thanks! *bounces*

    I did create an Alliance character on Kul Tiras because I have family who play there (Horde and Alliance), but I never play Alliance there. 😦

  3. I know how you feel. On my current server (EU Dragonblight), all 10 slots are filled at the moment. There just something about wanting to play with every class! When they had the Arena Tournament test realm out, allowing you to make instant Level 70s decked in Season 2 gear, it was heaven!

    I’ve got a Level 22 BE Warlock on EU Al-Akir who I was planning to level to 70 for PvP and Arenas. I have levelled alts to level 10-20, even 40 and deleted them. Then a few months later, I have petitioned with a GM to restore them, promising myself I would actually level them to 70 this time. Not surprisingly, I would lose interest again and go back on my Level 70 mains.

    Since all my chars were Alliance at the time, I decided to see what Horde was like (plus the fact they win at least 90% of the BGs bar AV in my battlegroup), I decided to powerlevel a BE Hunter. I got to Level 53, and I just suddenly lost interest. What’s up with that?!?!

    I believe my problem lies with not controlling my sudden urges to start new alts. I spend all day getting them to Level 10, fill their bags, mail over 10g, kit them in greens. BUT I don’t feel bad about deleting them and starting again because it was pretty easy to make them (especially when you have access to a friend’s Level 70 Hunter to boost you).

    Hence why I have made the long-thought decision to abandon all and make a Death Knight in WotLK my new main. I WILL force myself to powerlevel to 80, and then spec for raid tanking. This time no more altaholism. If I didn’t make so many alts in BC, I would have been raiding SWP now…Instead I’m stuck at Archimonde 😦

Leave a Reply

