Money, Money, Money…

“… it’s a rich man’s world!” – ABBA

It’s a very true statement in WoW. Without Gold, as more people progress to end-game content and stop rolling alts, the economy on a WoW server can become unbalanced. The introduction of Dailies and the easy Gold they brought to characters made an large impact by allowing a minor economical reset as more characters were able to purchase more of the previously out of reach gear/items.

However, that can lead to another problem. With the introduction of Inscription (the new profession being introduced with Wrath of the Lich King), the price of herbs and mid level items such as level 45-60 green armor/weapons (to disenchant) have already begun to skyrocket as people begin to collect and store herbs (used in making ink for Inscription) and enchanting mats in anticipation. This echoes a similar situation before Burning Crusade came out and people were collecting ore and gems in anticipation of Jewelcrafting.

So how do you as a player deal with the economical upset? The short answer is that I don’t know, I can only offer my own experience. I’ve rolled and leveled alts to avoid it – I have an herbalist, an alchemist, a tailor and so on. I’ve created a Guild solely populated by my alts and family to store mats for Inscription in the Guild Bank. I do dailies for the cash and buy from both the faction and neutral Auction Houses.

What’s it like on your server and how are you dealing with it?

One Response

  1. I know how you feel. Prices for items such as Clefthide/Cobrahide Leg Armors have increased from around 65g to 150g in the past few weeks! The availability of dailies means that gold is easily acquirable. For example, if I spend 3-4 hours a day doing 20 or so dailies on my two Level 70 characters, I can easily fetch 480-500g a day! I did this for 2-3 weeks straight before I blew it all on epic mounts and powerlevelling professions!

    As much as I want to be fully prepared for WotLK (having 8k gold at least and buying all appropriate greens for my new Gnome Death Knight), it’s just so boring and I just can’t be bothered anymore you know? Maybe I should just accept that things are drastically changing, just like it was when the Burning Crusade expansion was released.

Leave a Reply

